top of page

Segments on Notes (2017)

"Sounds sound, occasionally they drip into the room (composition: Matan Daskal). Very slowly, One arm rises, one foot bends...

...Until at the end, two dancers move in repetitive jumps across the surface in a sound space of floating tones (Bach partita arrangement by Matan Daskal) - pushing themselves off the ground, higher and higher, stronger and stronger. Consistency, but no more closeness, Paradise lost."

The piece touches on a series of encounters, facilitating and observing the act of coming together and setting apart. Tapping into the intimacy, absurdity, tenderness, and intricacy that lays within each meeting. The structure of the piece attempts to give the viewer an opportunity to listen more closely to subtleties woven into each occurring meeting. The dancers are required to tap into their most sensitive physical self in order to create a rich and coherent environment where dynamics, textures, and timings are ever changing.

Choreographer: Tom Weinberger

Created for the Johannes Weiland Company, Staas Theater Kassel

A piece for solo piano

Choreography: Tom Weinberger
Original Music: Matan Daskal 

segments on notes
segments on notes
segments on notes
bottom of page