top of page

Sounds of Siday: Side A / Side B (2020)

“Matan is so gifted. He is an amazing composer and artist”
BARRY DAVIS, Jerusalem Post

An exciting collaboration between two of the most fascinating contemporary orchestras in Israel, dedicated to Eric Siday, the pioneer of electronic music and the inventor of the “sound logo.”

Siday led a transformative  revolution in the American television and advertising world of the 1950s and 1960s when he introduced electronic sound into television opening music, logos and commercials.

The two-part multi-disciplinary concert combines acoustic and electronic music, movement and video. Under the direction of composers Matan Daskal (Castle in Time Orchestra) and Stephen Horenstein (The Lab Orchestra), the orchestras will delve into the unique sound that Siday created.


The first part  (Side A) of the evening composed by Daskal comprises a sound piece that is inspired by Siday’s miniatures and a soundpainting live composition in the spirit of his works. The second part (Side B), composed by Horenstein, is inspired by sound and images (VJ) from Eric Siday’s early television commercials whose mantra was “buy, buy, buy” (then synonymous with “patriotism”).  From a peak of intensity and saturation we move to meditative melody,  including the last that Siday wrote.

Premiered in the Jerusalem Theater as part of the Israel Festival.

Created by: Stephen Horenstein and Matan Daskal / Composer and Conductor of “Side A”: Matan Daskal / Composer and Conductor of “Side B”: Stephen Horenstein
Performed by musicians from Castle in Time Orchestra and The Lab Orchestra: Flute: Rachel Mazor, Oboe: Mariona Godia, Soprano Saxophone: Chen Amar, Tenor Saxophone: Eyal Netzer, Baritone Saxophone: Bob Trachtenberg, French Horn: Ofer Etzioni, Trombone: Ma’ayan Milo, Electronic and Acoustic Percussion and Water: Shalev Ne’eman, Pablo Ordas, Drum set: Haggai Fershtman, Electric Guitar: Yeonathan Shachar, Synths and Grand Piano: Yonatan Daskal, Electric Bass: David Michaeli, Computer player: Asaf Meidan, Electronics: Daniel Grossman, Voice: Eliana Horenstein, Harp: Ada Ragimov, Violin: Benedikt Bindewald, Cello: Shani Bar, Tom Klein, Double Bass: Or Sinay / Soundman: Michael Medina / Art Directing: Tom Love / Live video art and concept: Danielle Parsay / Paintings: Sam Reizer / Video collage and images: Stephen Horenstein; Light designer: Ofer Laufer / Artistic collaborator and advisor: Malu Zayon / Photos: Daniel Ring and Nadav Yahalomi

Behind-the-scenes documentation: Director: Rotem Ben Hamo\ Film crew: Cinemark\ Producer: Noam Greshler


The concert made possible through a generous grant from the Eric and Edith Siday Charitable Foundation (USA)

Sound of Siday (Side A : Side B)
Castle in Time and LAB Orchestra
Matan Daskal and Stephen Horenstein
bottom of page